top of page

Minnesota Logger of the Year

The Minnesota Sustainable Forestry Initiative® Program Implementation Committee is now accepting nominations for our 2023 Logger of the Year Award.  We encourage you to nominate an exceptional logger today. The winning logger will receive a $500 cash award and “2023 Logger of the Year” plaque. In addition, the winner will be nominated for the Forest Resources Association’s Regional Outstanding Logger of the Year award.


To nominate an outstanding logger, please download the electronic nomination form. Complete the nomination form describing why you think your nominee should receive the MN SIC Logger of the Year Award. Your nomination should include Letters of Support from peers, private landowners, agency staff, etc.


Nominations are due Friday March 3, 2023. Nomination forms should be emailed to  All nominations will be reviewed, and a Logger of the Year selected by the end of March.  The winner will be notified in April and the award will be presented at the MLEP Logger Conferences.


Award Objectives

  • Recognize outstanding Minnesota independent logging contractor performance.

  • Increase the visibility of competent professional independent logging contractors within the forestry community.

  • Encourage other independent logging contractors to emulate the outstanding performance of award winners.

  • Improve forester-logger-landowner relations by publicly recognizing outstanding logging performance as an essential element of every planned timber harvest.

Award Deadline: March 3, 2023

Pile of forested logs
bottom of page